Parliament split ahead of Presidential Election

Parliament split ahead of Presidential Election

Parliament was split ahead of the Presidential Election with political parties deciding to back one of the two main candidates, Ranil Wickremesinghe and Dullas Alahapperuma.

The Sri Lanka Freedom Party, the Tamil National Alliance and a number of others had decided to support Dullas Alahapperuma.

Most of the members of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) and the Ceylon Workers Congress (CWC) decided to support Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Minister Harin Fernando said that some members of the TNA and the SLFP will also vote for Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Acting President Ranil Wickremesinghe, National Peoples Power (NPP) Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake and MP Dullas Alahapperuma have been nominated for President, Parliament was informed.

Leader of the Opposition Sajith Premadasa withdrew from the presidential race and decided to support MP Dullas Alahapperuma for the post.

Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) Leader Dinesh Gunawardena nominated Ranil Wickremesinghe, MP Vijitha Herath nominated Anura Kumara Dissanayake and Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa nominated Dullas Alahapperuma.

The new President will be elected by MPs through a secret vote. (Colombo Gazette)

Previous Post Next Post
Disclaimer: This news appearing on Yazh News Media has been auto-published from an agency feed without any modifications to the text and has not been reviewed by an editor. For further clarification contact us on Email.